Weekend, You Put the “L” in Lousy

Back from Florida!

Last week I spent four days with 700 teachers at a convention in the Florida panhandle. We stayed on a lovely college campus and had access to an indoor pool, a water park, bowling, ice skating, and exercise facilities. One night I managed to break into the college gym for a solitary run. I was the only person in the entire gymnasium, and it was so relaxing after a long flight! Most of the time, however, we spent our time in college classrooms discussing the ethics of invented spelling and descriptive grammar.

130723_0003

One evening we heard Australian Steve Ham (Ken Ham’s brother) present on the topic of Creationism and education. I appreciated his academic approach and his use of technology in his presentation, but I thought his presentation was a bit simplistic. He argued that our belief must be based on faith, not on evidence. (And to a point, I agree, but not for the reasons for which he argued. I think we need to be careful here. My concern with the “faith, not evidence” people is that they are arrogant regarding Scripture [“WE are right”], rather than acting in trust [in God] and humility within academic and scientific communities. I don’t think it’s wise, nor realistic, to accompany the trend found among certain Christian groups [or class-based denominations?] to cover up our ears and go all “Na-na-na-na-na,” and have “faith”, rather than to open our eyes to the complex and gritty issues of our modern world. There is a complexity that this black-and-white, simplistic, dogmatic “faith” does not relevantly approach. Yet, on the far side of complexity is found a simple faith, a faith in the Truth, which is a person, who is Jesus.)

Though one point Steve Ham made well. Arguing for the importance of the study of the origins and Genesis, he said:

You can’t divide the Creator from the Savior.

The other sessions included a ton of practical advice for in-service teachers. I furiously scribbled notes and tried not to wince every time the presenters said, “Oh, and first-year teachers… never do this…”

Other than that, the weekend was perfectly LOUSY. I slept poorly because I had no pillow or blanket all weekend. (What? Bring your own pillow? Missed THAT memo.) And I barely got to experience any Florida sunshine. Saddest thing ever: sitting in a college dorm room, clutching a trashcan and a can of Sprite, while my fellow teachers are galavanting at the beach. Sigh. Getting sick was NOT on my to-do list for this summer! So I missed the beach. And swimming. And our flights were delayed for hours on the way home. (I was supposed to get home at 9:00 p.m. and instead I got home at 4:00 in the morning.) We finally got on a late flight from Atlanta to Indy (we being us, minus our bags). Our bags came an hour later on another flight. All except for one. Which had to be shipped here the next day. Then we got stopped on our 3 hour drive home from the airport (whoops, driving a liiiiittle too fast), and then, then

when I arrived home, I realized I had locked myself out of my apartment.

At 4:00 in the morning.

I curled up into a fetal position, wailing ferociously on my steps, but really, just called my landlords like a responsible adult, and they graciously rectified the perfectly lousy situation known as last weekend.

In other news, I visited the second-largest county fair in America on Saturday (give it up for Elkhart!), and I ate my very first elephant ear, and I had stage seats (stage seats!) for the finest redneck event of the season: the Demolition Derby! Woo hoo. My favorite part was where the pink car smoked all the others.

I really hope everyone had a less lousy weekend.

Leave a Reply

