Bits: AVeryFastVeryShortSummaryWaitSummeryDoYouMeanSummerICan’tWaitTilSummer!!!

Why does it seem that when I’m busy beyond the point of going insane that THAT’S when my brain short-circuits from all the blogging ideas I have?

Hi guys! I’m alive! Your prayers would be appreciated the next three weeks, where I shall attempt to conquer untold amounts of research, reading, paper writing, and wedding prep! Can I just say: April 26th cannot get here fast enough! It will be my birthday, and I will be DONE WITH UNIVERSITY, my sister will be married, and I will be hosting WORLD’S LARGEST BARBY in my backyard! Everyone is invited. Please bring a friend and a non-alcoholic dish to pass.

barby

(Okay, just kidding about the barbeque.)

Here are some things I have been thinking about lately. Please vote on your favorite topics, and I might write a post about them in the future!

1. This shampoo.

130327_0004

2. The Pros and Cons of Being an English Major.

3. Hutchinson Community College Vs. The Ohio State University: A Comparative Case Study.

3. The complexities and roles of humor, irony, and sarcasm in the Bible and how Christians should approach these issues in their personal lives. (Cuz I’m a sarcastic girl. And sarcasm got this girl pregnant.)

4. The role of literature, analogy, and figurative language in Scripture. (Okay, so, Daniel was BOSS at Babylonian literature. And, really, anyone who thinks that “English class doesn’t matter” ought to read the words of Jesus from John 16:25: “These things I have spoken to you in figurative language; an hour is coming when I will no longer speak to you in figurative language, but will tell you plainly of the Father.” Hey, if our Savoir uses figurative language, it’s probably pretty important to understand how it works! #EnglishTeacherForLife)

5. Anabaptist Ostriches: Heads in Historical Sand.

ostrich

(Realizing of course, that ostriches actually bury their heads in the sand to adjust their hidden ostrich eggs. So the heads in the sand are actually protecting their young, not blocking the whole world out. Biological correctness aside, it seems that some Anabaptists bury their heads in our history. And I would say that our history of persecution, nonresistance, and reconciliation is important, the study of which is beneficial. But I wonder if we really benefit from this history as we might. I feel like we are trying to find relevance for our present existence through the faith of our fathers. Why don’t we instead make practical applications of our exciting, unique history for today? Shouldn’t the study of the past be grounded in contexts of the present, and if not, the future? The way I see it: our past is to be our future.

Thankfully for the Christian, our past—redemption and reconciliation by Jesus—IS our present. And our future. Happy Easter!

8 thoughts on “Bits: AVeryFastVeryShortSummaryWaitSummeryDoYouMeanSummerICan’tWaitTilSummer!!!”

  1. I want to hear about 2, 3 and 5 (actually all of them…but since I had to choose)…. in that order. Hope you get some sleep in the next 24 days!

Leave a Reply

