A Vocal Valentine

Recently I realized that I really try to avoid love songs. I don’t know if it’s because romantic love (as a theme) is so cliché in popular music, or because songwriters (manufacturers?) like Rami Yacoub write lines like, “The way that you flip your hair makes me overwhelmed.” (I highly doubt it, One Direction.)

But I would never want to be accused of being cynical. So I decided to try and bear it and come up with a Vocal Valentine for you, dear reader.

If you absolutely have to sing a love song, I highly suggest choosing one that gets right to the point, like this young Australian did.

But, on the other hand, if you have a world-class choir, and a couple months of rehearsal, it’s Eric Whitacre all the way.

http://grooveshark.com/#!/search?q=a+boy+and+a+girl+eric+whitacre

(And, sorry boys, but now I have to include Josh Groban.) Don’t be intimidated. Girls are very forgiving. You might be singing “The Art of Succinct Compliments,” but to her it will seem like “So She Dances.” It’s pretty much the same thing, really.

http://grooveshark.com/#!/search?q=so+she+dances+josh+groban

And here’s a little crossover.

And here is probably the most enjoyable universal love song ever:

Wishing you a very Happy Valentine’s Day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

